Getting into a car accident in Philadelphia can be a daunting experience, especially if you don’t have insurance. Hypothetically, you get into a car accident and find out the at-fault motorist doesn’t have insurance coverage.
How do you cover the cost of property damage or medical expenses that results from the accident? Or worse still, you were at fault during the crash and caused significant damage or injury to the other motorist. Who’s going to pay for it all?
Facing this vast financial burden can make you disoriented or shaken up. Auto insurance offers you protection against financial losses if you get into a car accident or your vehicle suffers significant damage.
Moreover, Philadelphia injury lawyers require proof of insurance to help facilitate compensation recovery. In this article, you’ll learn, amongst other things, what happens if you get into a car accident without insurance in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
Can I Drive Without Insurance in Pennsylvania?
As a Pennsylvania driver, you are mandated under law to have auto insurance. Without comprehensive coverage, you cannot legally drive a vehicle according to state laws. Having insurance coverage essentially means you won’t have to depend on the motorist who caused the accident to cover your medical bills or vehicle repair costs.
Pennsylvania state law requires all motorists in the state to maintain vehicle liability coverage on all registered vehicles. This policy should include coverage for property damage and bodily injury liability. According to PA law, the amount of coverage varies according to injury, death, and property damage.
Aside from basic insurance coverage, the state doesn’t legally require you to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. Notwithstanding, you may decide to pay for additional coverage. That way, you can recover compensation to cover your medical bills and repair costs to your vehicle if an uninsured driver causes the accident.
Legal Consequences of Driving Without Insurance in Pennsylvania
The minimum amount of coverage a Pennsylvania driver needs is 15/30/5. Essentially, your insurance provider covers up to
- $15,000 for bodily injury/death per person.$30,000 for bodily injury/death per accident.
- $5,000 for property damage per accident.
The state of Pennsylvania is one of the few no-fault states in America. Your insurance company covers the entire or part payment of your medical bills and damage regardless of who caused the accident. State laws allow you to opt out of fault-based insurance. Moreover, an at-fault policy premium costs more than a no-fault policy.
Drivers in Philadelphia who fail to show proof of evidence of car insurance may face strong penalties. The state could suspend your license for three months if you are a first-time offender. Sometimes, you could face hefty fines and run the risks of your vehicle being impounded.
The state may require you to pay a restoration fee to have your driving privileges restored. Furthermore, you can pay a civil penalty fee of $500 to prevent suspension of your driving privileges. Of course, you’ll still have to pay the stipulated $76 restoration fee.
What Happens If I Get Into A Car Accident Without Insurance?
Pennsylvania is no stranger to car accidents. If you get into a car accident without insurance in Philadelphia, it may be difficult to recover compensation for injuries and damages. Keep in mind that you must report accidents to the police authorities. First, you will be issued a ticket for driving without insurance.
Say you caused the accident; you will be held liable for any injuries and property damage during the accident. Sometimes, this may run into hundreds of thousands of dollars. There’s no denying that amount of liability can negatively impact your finances.
If you can’t afford to cover the cost of liability, the courts may impound your vehicle or liquidate your assets. Essentially, your car or another property may be sold to cover the compensation to the other party. The key takeaway is that it is not advisable to drive in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, without a valid auto insurance policy. Even if the other party caused the accident, it might be difficult getting compensation for injuries or damages caused to you.
Let Us Assist You with Your Claim
Driving in Pennsylvania without auto insurance coverage is illegal and can get you into a lot of trouble. Most times, people don’t know where to turn for help after a car accident in Philadelphia. If you ever get into a Philadelphia accident or suffer severe injury from someone else’s wrongful actions or negligence, let our Philadelphia injury lawyers assist you with your claim while you recover your health. You may recover compensation worth a significant amount if you act swiftly.
Our top priority is to ensure you receive your claim. We can develop a foolproof strategy to help you deliver the best possible outcome from the information you provide. Our lawyers are some of the finest compensation experts in Pennsylvania.